Best Professional Compact Cordless Drill: CRAFTSMAN Wins
A working comparison of seven compact cordless drills, ranked by head length, weight and what the specifications actually promise. CRAFTSMAN's brushless RP leads for tight-space work, with DEWALT's DCD771C2 the runner-up for mixed drilling.
The best professional compact cordless drill in this set is the CRAFTSMAN V20 BRUSHLESS RP Compact Drill/Driver (CMCD714D1), a 4.37 lb brushless drill with a 6.2 in. tool head that CRAFTSMAN says drills up to 77 holes per charge. If you want two batteries in the box and a 1/2 in. chuck, the DEWALT DCD771C2 is the runner-up, weighing 3.64 lb with a 3 Year Limited Warranty. Most compact drill guides compare voltage and torque. Neither decides this. Head length and weight do, because they are the only figures that predict whether the tool reaches the screw.
Best professional compact cordless drill at a glance
| Pick | Head length / weight | Chuck & motor | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall CRAFTSMAN V20 BRUSHLESS RP (CMCD714D1) |
6.2 in. head 4.37 lb |
Brushless motor | Check Price |
| Most versatile DEWALT 20V Max Drill Driver (DCD771C2) |
3.64 lb 0–450 & 1,500 rpm |
1/2 in. ratcheting chuck | Check Price |
| Best upgrade BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX (BDC120VA100) |
6.14 lb kit 100-pc set |
24-position clutch | Check Price |
| Best minimal setup AVID POWER 20V Cordless Drill |
3.65 lb 0–550 rpm |
3/8 in. keyless chuck 15+1 clutch |
Check Price |
| Best for pros COMOWARE Cordless Drill |
5.2 lb 2 speeds |
3/8 in. keyless metal chuck 266 in-lbs claim |
Check Price |
| Best budget pick FADAKWALT 12V Drill Set |
21+1 clutch 0–650 rpm |
3/8 in. keyless chuck 180 in-lbs claim |
Check Price |
| Best premium DEWALT 20V MAX Combo (DCK240C2) |
3.6 lb Drill + impact |
1/2 in. chuck + 1/4 in. hex | Check Price |
What buyers compare that does not decide it
Voltage and torque numbers dominate the listing pages. They rarely decide the job.
Every drill in this set except the FADAKWALT runs on a 20V lithium platform. The FADAKWALT is 12V. So voltage sorts one drill out of seven and tells you almost nothing about the six that remain. Torque claims are worse, because they come from different test protocols. COMOWARE quotes 266 in-lbs, AVID POWER quotes 280 in-lbs and FADAKWALT quotes 180 in-lbs. DEWALT and CRAFTSMAN quote no in-lbs at all in the fields supplied; DEWALT states 300 unit watts out for the DCD771C2 and CRAFTSMAN talks about brushless power without a number.
You cannot rank those figures against each other. They are not the same measurement.
What you can rank is head length, weight and chuck size, because those are geometric and mechanical facts. A 6.2 in. head reaches a screw that a 7.5 in. head does not. A 3.6 lb drill held overhead for an hour is a different tool from a 6.14 lb kit. A 1/2 in. chuck accepts a hole saw arbor that a 3/8 in. chuck does not.
Compare the drills on the numbers that describe the tool, not the numbers that describe a marketing claim.
How I screened this shortlist
I began with the seven listings supplied, all in the drill drivers category except the DEWALT DCK240C2, which sits under combo kits because it ships with an impact driver too. Every one was screened against three criteria: a published compact form factor, an included battery and charger, and a chuck rated for common drilling and driving bits.
The criteria in order of weight:
- Head length and weight. The whole point of the "compact" label is reach and hand fatigue, so anything a shopper can see in the listing about tool head geometry counts first.
- Motor type and speed range. Brushless motors run cooler and last longer between service intervals. A two-speed transmission separates a driving tool from a drilling tool.
- What is in the box. A drill on its own, a drill with two batteries, a drill with a 100-piece bit set: three different purchases from the same category page.
- Published warranty. Two of seven listings publish one. That is a differentiator in a set this size.
Nothing was cut. The seven picks each answer a different question, and the roundup is more useful when the trade-offs are visible than when three of them are hidden.
1. CRAFTSMAN V20 BRUSHLESS RP Compact Drill/Driver — Best overall
A 4.37 lb brushless drill with a 6.2 in. head length that CRAFTSMAN says drills up to 77 holes per charge, aimed squarely at electricians and cabinet fitters working in tight bays.

Best for: electricians and cabinet fitters working between studs and inside carcases Skip it if: you need a hammer function for masonry
What sets this drill apart in the set is the head geometry. CRAFTSMAN publishes a 6.2 in. tool head length and says that is 25% shorter than a comparable RYOBI, and while I cannot verify the comparison, the 6.2 in. figure is a specification. No other drill here publishes a head length that short. Dimensions overall are 8.7 x 11 x 2.99 in. and the drill weighs 4.37 lb, which sits between the 3.64 lb DEWALT DCD771C2 and the 5.2 lb COMOWARE.
The motor is brushless, unusual at this price position in the set. CRAFTSMAN claims up to 40% more power than a comparable brushed motor and up to 19% faster drilling. Both are attributed manufacturer claims. The 77-holes-per-charge figure is also CRAFTSMAN's, and it depends on hole size and material the listing does not state. A built-in LED lights the workpiece.
The trade-off is what you do not get: no published warranty in the listing data, no second battery in the box, no chuck size stated in the fields supplied, and the second-highest price position of the seven picks. You are paying for the head length and the brushless motor, and you are getting both.
Pros:
- Shortest published head length in the set at 6.2 in.
- Brushless motor for cooler running
- Built-in LED for enclosed spaces
- 4.37 lb overall for extended overhead work
- Compact 8.7 x 11 x 2.99 in. footprint
Cons:
- No published warranty in the listing data
- Chuck size not stated in the fields supplied
- Only one battery in the box
- Price position sits near the top of this set
2. DEWALT 20V Max Cordless Drill Driver Set (DCD771C2) — Most versatile
A 3.64 lb drill with a 1/2 in. ratcheting chuck, two 1.3Ah batteries and a 3 Year Limited Warranty, built for a mixed day of wood, plastic and light metal.

Best for: a mixed day of wood, plastic and light metal with a 1/2 in. chuck Skip it if: you want a brushless motor
The DEWALT is the lightest full-size drill in the set at 3.64 lb and the only one with a published two-speed transmission: 0–450 rpm for driving and 0–1,500 rpm for drilling. Those two ranges do different jobs, and having both means one drill instead of two for a mixed shift. DEWALT quotes 300 unit watts out from the motor and states the tool is suitable for home repairs, light construction, wood, plastic and light metal, and unsuitable for concrete, masonry or heavy industrial use.
The 1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck is the largest chuck in the set. It accepts hole saw arbors and larger twist bits that a 3/8 in. chuck refuses. The kit includes two XR 1.3Ah lithium-ion batteries, a charger and a contractor bag, and is one of only two picks here with a published warranty at 3 Year Limited.
Where it loses to the CRAFTSMAN is head geometry: DEWALT publishes overall dimensions of 4.25 x 13.9 x 9.88 in. but no isolated head length, and the motor is brushed. This one has sold faster than most of the set here in the drill drivers category, which tells you the kit configuration reads as good value.
Pros:
- 3 Year Limited Warranty
- Two 1.3Ah batteries in the box
- 1/2 in. chuck accepts larger bits
- Two-speed transmission at 0–450 and 0–1,500 rpm
- Lightest full-size drill here at 3.64 lb
Cons:
- Brushed motor, not brushless
- No stated head length figure
- Longer overall length than the CRAFTSMAN
3. BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Kit (BDC120VA100) — Best upgrade
A 6.14 lb kit centred on a 20V lithium drill with a 24-position clutch, packaged with 100 bits, sockets and accessories under a 2 Year Warranty.

Best for: a homeowner who wants one battery platform and a full bit set out of the box Skip it if: you already own bits and a driver kit
The 6.14 lb weight and 14.4 x 15.5 x 5.56 in. dimensions in the listing are for the whole kit, not the drill alone. That matters. What you are buying is the 100-piece accessory pack around a compact 20V drill, not a bare tool. The 24-position clutch is the highest clutch count in the set alongside COMOWARE's 25+1, which helps prevent driving a screw too deep in softwoods or thin metal.
BLACK+DECKER publishes a 2 Year Warranty and calls out the POWERCONNECT battery platform, which lets one battery run other BLACK+DECKER tools you might add later. The drill has a soft-grip handle and the kit is old enough that the listing shows a 2012 release date, which suggests a stable, unchanged design.
The trade-off is what a 100-piece bit set actually means. Many of the bits are common driver bits you could buy for little on their own, and if you already have a drill you also have bits. This kit earns its place when you want everything in one purchase, and it loses when you do not.
Pros:
- 24-position clutch for controlled driving
- 2 Year Warranty
- POWERCONNECT battery shares across BLACK+DECKER tools
- 100-piece accessory pack in the box
- Soft-grip handle
Cons:
- Kit dimensions include the case, so the drill alone is smaller
- 2012 platform, so no brushless motor
- Bit set duplicates what many owners already have
4. AVID POWER 20V Cordless Drill Set — Best minimal setup
A 3.65 lb 20V drill with 15+1 torque settings, a 3/8 in. keyless chuck and 22 bits, built for occasional users who do not want to over-buy.

Best for: occasional users assembling furniture and hanging shelves Skip it if: you drill every day
AVID POWER positions this drill for beginners, and the specifications back that up honestly. Weight is 3.65 lb, dimensions are 9.65 x 8.66 x 3.15 in. and the tool head itself is described in the listing as a 2.5 lb build with a rubberised grip. AVID POWER quotes 15+1 torque settings and a 280 in-lbs figure, with variable speed 0–550 rpm. That is a single-speed transmission, and 550 rpm is the slowest top speed of any drill here that publishes one.
The 3/8 in. keyless chuck is standard for a light drill, and the 22-piece kit covers ten drill bits, ten driver bits, a flexible shaft and an extension bar. A real-time battery level display is called out in the features, which is genuinely useful mid-job.
Against the rest of the set, this drill trades top-end speed and torque for a lower price position and a lighter build. It is the third-cheapest here. There is no published warranty in the listing data and no brushless motor, and 550 rpm is slow for drilling wood with anything larger than a 1/4 in. bit. Match it to the job.
Pros:
- 3.65 lb build for extended one-handed use
- 22-piece bit kit included
- Rubberised grip
- Real-time battery level display
- 15+1 torque settings for driving
Cons:
- Single-speed 0–550 rpm transmission
- No published warranty
- Brushed motor
- Not sized for heavier drilling work
5. COMOWARE Cordless Drill — Best for pros
A 5.2 lb 20V drill with a 3/8 in. keyless metal chuck, a 25+1 position clutch and a claimed 266 in-lbs of torque, sold with a 60-minute charger.

Best for: a light second drill kept in a van for punch-list work Skip it if: you need a brand-name battery platform to share across tools
COMOWARE gives you the highest clutch count in the set at 25+1, a 3/8 in. keyless metal chuck rather than the plastic collars found on some entry drills, and a 1500mAh battery with a 60-minute fast charger. The claimed 266 in-lbs sits between AVID POWER's 280 in-lbs claim and FADAKWALT's 180 in-lbs claim, though again those are separate manufacturers' figures on separate test rigs.
Two variable speeds are called out in the listing, though no rpm figures are supplied for either speed in the fields I have, and no warranty is published. Weight is 5.2 lb, dimensions are 9 x 11 x 3 in., and the kit includes 23 accessories in a storage case: HSS twist bits, brad-point bits and a set of screwdriver bits.
The "for pros" label sits on a specific reading: this is not a first-choice site drill, it is a competent second drill that lives in a van and gets used on punch-list days when the primary tool is busy. In the set, it has the second-lowest price position, which makes it the value pick if you need a full kit and not just a bare tool.
Pros:
- 25+1 position clutch, the highest here
- 3/8 in. keyless metal chuck
- 60-minute charger stated
- 23-piece accessory case included
- Two variable speeds
Cons:
- No warranty in the listing data
- No published rpm figures for either speed
- Brushed motor
- Off-brand battery, no shared platform
6. FADAKWALT Cordless Drill Set — Best budget pick
A 12V drill with 21+1 torque settings, a 3/8 in. keyless chuck and a claimed 180 in-lbs of torque, in the cheapest price position of the seven.

Best for: a first drill for a renter's toolbox Skip it if: you need higher torque or a stated warranty
The FADAKWALT is the only 12V drill in a set of 20V tools, and that is the trade-off in one line. A 12V platform is lighter and shorter, but it caps the ceiling of what the drill will handle. FADAKWALT quotes 180 in-lbs and 0–650 rpm, and the drill has a 21+1 position clutch and a 3/8 in. keyless chuck.
Dimensions are 2.36 x 7.87 x 7.87 in., which is small enough that the whole tool clears spaces the larger 20V drills cannot. The kit includes a magnetic flexible shaft, an extension bar, wood and masonry drill bits and a set of driver bits. No weight is stated in the listing data and no warranty is published.
This drill is the cheapest of the six. It earns the budget label without pretending to be a site tool. The right buyer is someone who wants a drill for flat-pack furniture, curtain rails and picture hooks, does not own a drill already, and knows they will not be drilling 1 in. holes through framing.
Pros:
- Cheapest of the six
- 21+1 torque settings
- 0–650 rpm variable speed
- Compact 2.36 x 7.87 x 7.87 in. body
- Kit includes flexible shaft and extension bar
Cons:
- 12V platform limits heavier work
- No stated weight in the listing
- No published warranty
- 180 in-lbs is the lowest claimed here
7. DEWALT 20V MAX Combo (DCK240C2) — Best premium
A 3.6 lb drill and impact driver pair on the DEWALT 20V platform, sold with two batteries, charger and bag under a 3 year limited warranty.

Best for: a pro who wants a drill and an impact driver on one battery platform Skip it if: you only need one tool and want the lightest option
This is the only combo kit in the set. You get the drill driver and a 1/4 in. hex impact driver, both on the same 20V MAX battery platform, both with integrated LED work lights that carry a 20-second delay. The drill has a 1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck. The impact driver has a 5.55 in. length and a one-handed loading 1/4 in. hex chuck. Two batteries and a charger sit in the bag alongside.
The drill weight in the listing is stated as 3.6 lb, which is the lightest figure here. Overall kit dimensions are 9.88 x 15.1 x 6.38 in. and DEWALT publishes a 3 year limited warranty. This is the seventh price position in the set: the most expensive pick here.
What you are paying for is not one better drill, it is the second tool. A dedicated impact driver drives long screws and lag bolts far faster than a drill in driving mode, and having both on one battery platform is the practical case for the premium price. Sells faster than most of the set here in its combo kits category, which is consistent with a working pro kit.
Pros:
- Two tools on one battery platform
- 3 year limited warranty
- 3.6 lb drill weight
- Integrated LED with 20-second delay on both tools
- 1/2 in. drill chuck and 1/4 in. impact hex chuck
Cons:
- Most expensive pick here
- Overkill if you only need a drill
- Brushed motors, not brushless
- 2015 platform
How compact is compact, really?
"Compact" is a label, not a measurement. The listings back it up in three different ways.
- Head length. Only the CRAFTSMAN publishes an isolated tool head length, at 6.2 in. That is the number that tells you whether the drill fits between two joists 16 in. on centre with a driver bit loaded.
- Overall length. DEWALT's DCD771C2 has a longest dimension of 13.9 in. and the CRAFTSMAN measures 11 in. on its longest side. That is a real gap once you are working inside a cabinet carcase.
- Weight. The DEWALT combo drill at 3.6 lb, the DCD771C2 at 3.64 lb and the AVID POWER at 3.65 lb are within grams of each other. The CRAFTSMAN is 4.37 lb. The BLACK+DECKER kit weight of 6.14 lb includes the case.
If you are choosing on reach, the CRAFTSMAN wins on head length. If you are choosing on hand fatigue over a long shift, the two DEWALTs and the AVID POWER win on weight. Those are two different definitions of compact, and no one drill wins both.
Brushless vs brushed: which belongs in your bag?
One drill in this set has a brushless motor, and it is the CRAFTSMAN. The rest are brushed. Is the brushless motor worth the price position on its own?
For a working pro, usually yes. Brushless motors run cooler, waste less energy as heat and skip the maintenance cycle of worn carbon brushes. They also tend to be shorter for the same power output, which is why the CRAFTSMAN's 6.2 in. head length is possible. CRAFTSMAN claims up to 40% more power and up to 19% faster drilling than a comparable brushed motor, and while those are the manufacturer's figures, the direction is right.
For a homeowner drilling a few pilot holes a month, no. A brushed drill from DEWALT or BLACK+DECKER will outlast the projects you use it for, and the money is better spent on a second battery or a better bit set.
The cutoff is usage frequency. Daily use, buy brushless. Occasional use, buy the drill with the accessories or the warranty that suits you.
What the listings do not tell you
Three things matter that no listing here publishes clearly.
- Battery amp-hours. The DEWALT DCD771C2 lists 1.3Ah batteries and COMOWARE lists 1500mAh. The others state a voltage without an amp-hour figure. Runtime scales with amp-hours, and two 1.3Ah packs may not out-run one 2.0Ah pack.
- Chuck material. COMOWARE calls out a metal chuck. The others do not state the chuck material in the fields supplied. A metal chuck grips heavier bits without slipping under load.
- Replacement battery availability. A brand-name battery is easy to replace in three years. An off-brand battery may not be. If you plan to keep the drill past its first pack, that matters.
Ask those three questions of any drill before you commit, whether or not it is on this shortlist. The answers change the value proposition more than any torque figure will.
Which pick fits which trade?
A quick map from job to tool:
- Electrical rough-in and cabinet install: CRAFTSMAN CMCD714D1, for the 6.2 in. head.
- General remodel, mixed materials: DEWALT DCD771C2, for the 1/2 in. chuck and two-speed transmission.
- Long-screw and lag work alongside drilling: DEWALT DCK240C2 combo, for the impact driver.
- First-time homeowner: BLACK+DECKER BDC120VA100, for the 100-piece kit.
- Furniture and light DIY: AVID POWER, for the 3.65 lb build and 22 bits.
- Van second drill on a budget: COMOWARE, for the metal chuck and 25+1 clutch.
- Renter's toolbox: FADAKWALT, for the 12V size and lowest price position here.
If you buy the tool for the job you actually do, none of these picks is wrong.
The verdict
If you drill in tight spaces for a living, the CRAFTSMAN V20 BRUSHLESS RP (CMCD714D1) is the best professional compact cordless drill in this set. A 6.2 in. tool head, a brushless motor and 4.37 lb of weight are the three specifications that decide the "compact" question, and this drill is the only one that publishes all three at the values above.
If you want a two-battery kit with a longer warranty and a bigger chuck, the DEWALT 20V Max Drill Driver Set (DCD771C2) is the better buy: 3.64 lb, 0–450 and 0–1,500 rpm, a 1/2 in. ratcheting chuck and a 3 Year Limited Warranty, with a second XR 1.3Ah battery in the box.
The cutoff between them is what you do with the tool. If you spend hours a day reaching between studs and inside cabinets, buy the CRAFTSMAN for the head length and the brushless motor. If you drill a wider range of materials with larger bits and need two batteries for a full shift, buy the DEWALT for the chuck and the warranty. Both are the best professional compact cordless drill for a specific way of working, and neither is wrong for the other job.
FAQ
What is the best professional compact cordless drill for tight spaces?
The best professional compact cordless drill for tight spaces in this set is the CRAFTSMAN CMCD714D1, because it publishes an isolated tool head length of 6.2 in. and weighs 4.37 lb. CRAFTSMAN also says the tool head is 25% shorter than a comparable competitor. No other drill in the shortlist publishes a head length that short, which is the figure that decides reach.
Is a brushless motor worth it on a compact drill?
A brushless motor is worth it if you drill most days. Brushless motors run cooler, avoid carbon-brush wear and let the manufacturer build a shorter tool head for the same output. CRAFTSMAN claims up to 40% more power and up to 19% faster drilling from its brushless RP motor. For weekend DIY, a brushed drill from DEWALT or BLACK+DECKER will do the job and cost less.
DEWALT DCD771C2 or DEWALT DCK240C2: which one should I buy?
DEWALT DCD771C2 or DCK240C2 depends on whether you also need an impact driver. The DCD771C2 is a single drill with a 1/2 in. chuck, two 1.3Ah batteries and a 3 Year Limited Warranty. The DCK240C2 adds a 1/4 in. hex impact driver on the same 20V platform under a 3 year limited warranty. Buy the combo if you drive long screws or lag bolts often. Otherwise, save the money.
What chuck size do I actually need on a compact drill?
The chuck size you actually need is 3/8 in. for most household drilling and 1/2 in. if you plan to run hole saws, spade bits or larger twist bits. In this set, both DEWALT drills carry a 1/2 in. chuck, while AVID POWER, COMOWARE and FADAKWALT publish a 3/8 in. chuck. CRAFTSMAN does not state a chuck size in the fields supplied here.
Can any of these drills handle concrete or masonry?
Can any of these drills handle concrete or masonry? Not on their own. DEWALT explicitly states in the DCD771C2 listing that the drill is not suitable for drilling into concrete or masonry, and the same limit applies to every drill driver here. Masonry needs hammer action, which none of the seven picks in this shortlist publishes. Buy a separate hammer drill for that job.
If you have been comparing torque numbers across seven listings and still cannot decide, stop comparing torque numbers. Weigh the drill in one hand, measure the head length against the tightest space you actually work in, and check whether a warranty is published. Those three checks sort the shortlist faster than any specification sheet. The CRAFTSMAN CMCD714D1 is the right default in this set because it wins on the specification that describes a compact drill honestly, and because it is the only brushless option. If your work is broader than tight-space drilling, the DEWALT DCD771C2 kit is the more flexible buy.
Last updated: September 9, 2026. Product availability re-checked.
This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.